Learning Becomes Hands-On with DK Canada Books! #Review #Giveaway ~ CAN 05/23

| April 25, 2016 | 40 Comments

Whether you are a kid or a kid at heart, we all have something that peaks our interests and makes us want to have fun. Whether it is an indoor hobby or one that takes us around the world, it is great to be able to let your hair down and to get your hands doing what we love to do. DK Canada has various books in their Made By Hands and Ultimate Factivity boutiques that would help anyone become more hand-on with their interests and hobbies! I was asked to review three books that fit and expand what we enjoy.

Here are the three books I chose to review:

  • Complete Children’s Cookbook
  • My Little Pony: Ultimate Factivity Collection
  • Digital Photography Through the Year

 

Ottawa Mommy Club DK Canada March 2016 Feature Photo

 

My kids love being our sous chefs when we are cooking or baking in the kitchen. I chose the Complete Children’s Cookbook because it will allow for them to help out us to create some yummy dishes that at their skill and safety levels.

 

Ottawa Mommy Club DK Canada March 2016 Cook Photo

 

It was great to have a large selection of recipes for every part of the day, so they could help us out, no matter which meal it is! I am also happy that there are lessons in healthy eating, cooking tips and equipment cooks and bakers use to get the job done right. The step-by-step directions are also easy to follow, so my kids can try their hand at making some of these fabulous dishes!

 

Ottawa Mommy Club DK Canada March 2016 Cook Collage Photo

 

Do you have a My Little Pony fan at home? I have two of them! To build on their love and knowledge of this equine world with My Little Pony: Ultimate Factivity Collection.

 

Ottawa Mommy Club DK Canada March 2016 MLP Collage Photo

 

Each chapter is filled with fun activities and information about the Mane Six, the world of Equestria and so much more! You can even draw ponies and other aspects of this fascinating world to add to the amusement of this book! My kids love picking this book up, and finding out more about this world. Oh, did I mention there were also stickers to add to the pages? This book was a homerun with my kids!

I am a pack rat when it comes to keeping memories digitally. My computer and smartphone is always filled with photos and video of my family and the adventures we have. Since getting a DSLR camera, I have wanted to improve my skills behind the camera, so I am soaking up every tip I can. That is why I chose to review Digital Photography Through the Year.

 

Ottawa Mommy Club DK Canada March 2016 Digital Photography Cover Photo

 

It gives readers so many tips and tricks for making specific shots picture perfect. I like how there are easily explained instructions on how to achieve certain shots, and great ideas on how to frame a photo to really make it tell a story without any words. This book is going to make the memories I capture even more memorable.

 

Ottawa Mommy Club DK Canada March 2016 Digital Photography Ice Full Photo

 

All of these books really allowed for my kids and I to become more hands-on in the interests we enjoy exploring. We have learned how to be more creative, and we are having fun while doing it! The instructions in all of these books are easy to follow, and it is great that they are all books we can go back to for reference and continue to find inspiration to do or make what we love better!

Find a book that will allow you and your family to become more hands -on with your interests or hobbies in DK Canada’s Made By Hands and Ultimate Factivity boutiques.

 

dk-made-by-hands-button-185x185

 

For more details about DK Canada, you can connect with them on their Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram pages!

Disclaimer: I received the aforementioned titles from DK Canada in order to write this review. The views expressed are my own.

 

A DK Canada Hands-On Giveaway!

 

Ottawa Mommy Club DK Canada March 2016 Feature Photo

 

DK Canada would like for one lucky Ottawa Mommy Club follower to have fun while being hands-on in their interests by giving away the three books I reviewed! Here is a list of these great titles:

  • Complete Children’s Cookbook
  • My Little Pony: Ultimate Factivity Collection
  • Digital Photography Through the Year

The ARV of this prize package is $75!

Good luck!

This giveaway is open to Canadian residents and ends at 11:59 EDT on May 23rd, 2016.

Rules: Open to Canadian residents 18 +. You have 48 hours to reply by email once you are notified as the winner. If you don’t, we will draw another entry. Prize is non-transferable. No substitution or cash equivalent of prizes is permitted. The selected winner must correctly answer a mathematical question in order to win the prize mentioned above. The Ottawa Mommy Club is not responsible for prize fulfillment and for the delivery/shipment of the prize(s) mentioned above. For our complete set of rules, please click here.

Click here to view this promotion.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Books/Magazines, Dads, Family, Giveaways Archived, Kids, Moms, Reviews, Thursday Reviews, Weekly Themes

About the Author ()

My name is Lian Wright. Born in Toronto, I came to Ottawa as a student to study Political Science at Carleton University, and came away with an Honours Degree, and decided to stay. I'm a huge sports fan, have a love of reading, and like experiencing new things whenever I can. I am now a mother of three children (11, 1 and 7 months old) and am kept constantly on my toes. My blog, Pieces of Me, is my way of sharing what I have enjoyed and encountered in my life so far as a mother. So far, being a mom has had it's expected ups and downs, but that's what makes being a parent so fulfilling for me. I've loved and learned from what's happened so far, and I can't wait to see what's in store for me next. I hope you enjoy the journey with me!

Comments (40)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. jan says:

    Right now he is enjoying No More Monkeys

  2. My little cousins love books about animals.

  3. Judy Cowan says:

    I read Dr Suess Books to my nieces/nephews. Green Eggs & Ham is always a fave! These all look like great books!

  4. Jennifer Lo says:

    I like to read the bible with my kids

  5. Angela Mitchell says:

    Oooh my kids would love the My Little Pony book. They’ve just finished every epidsode on Netflix!

  6. Elizabeth Matthiesen says:

    I always loved reading The Gruffalo to my grandchildren when they were small, the fact that there was so much repetition appealed to them a lot.

  7. Lynda Cook says:

    I like reading the Mother Goose Nursery Rhymes and stories, they will always be the best!!

  8. Robyn Bellefleur says:

    We enjoy reading any Dr. Seuss books

  9. Silvia D says:

    when mine were young it was Dr.Suess or Robert Munsch books. My step grandkids also love them now I gave many to my step daughter for the little ones!

  10. Michelle says:

    Right now Tabby McTat is his favourite.

  11. Israel Y says:

    we love curious george

  12. Ann Kieswetter says:

    Any of the Robert Munsch books were always a hit with my kids!

  13. lynne m says:

    I love to read “I Wish I had Duck Feet,” by Dr. Seuss!

  14. Alayne Langford says:

    Right now I have been reading the Franklin series books to my grandchildren! We love Franklin! 🙂

  15. wobbles13 says:

    we like 5 little monkeys

  16. angela marriott says:

    I love to read rhyming books like Dr. Seuss.

  17. Jennifer P. says:

    My favourite book to read to my kids is Each Peach Pear Plum.

  18. Erinn Lishman says:

    My girls love just about any book I read to them, but my favourite one, that I could read over and over, has to be On The Night You Were Born.

  19. KD says:

    My favourite book to read to my daughter is Alligator Pie by Dennis Lee.

  20. Travelbuds says:

    I don’t read to my kids anymore. They are currently reading the Harry Potter books.

  21. Darwin says:

    I love reading I want a Dog to my kids probably because they want a dog!

  22. Dianne G. says:

    I enjoy reading Good Night Moon to my grandchildren. I read the book to my children too.

  23. Tracy D says:

    She loves the Todd Parr books, and Leslie Patricelli books.

  24. missbobloblaw says:

    Both of my kids love listening to The Jungle Book.

  25. Teresa Vollick says:

    Was alway Love You Forever

  26. Laurie Bolduc-Cadieux says:

    My kids love any book that rhymes.

  27. Jonnie says:

    I love to read Love You Forever to my kids. They all know it by heart now!

  28. Kandace K says:

    My favourite book to read to the kids is good night moon.

  29. KellyPC says:

    I love Dr Suess or Disney books.

  30. dawn walsh says:

    franklin the turtle books

  31. Elena says:

    I just got through reading Harry Potter to my kids and they loved it!

  32. Sarah says:

    My daughter loves any book that includes princesses, pink, Dora the Explorer, and The Very Hungry Caterpillar. She would love the hands on kids cookbook.

  33. Mary Jaglowitz says:

    I love reading any and all Dr. Seuss books to my kids.

  34. Athena says:

    Guess how much I love you

  35. anastasis says:

    I love reading smelly sick by munsch

  36. Heidi c. says:

    Goodnight Moon is our all-time favourite.

  37. Tricia Hope says:

    We loved The Velveteen Rabbit,can’t wait to introduce it to my grand daughters.

  38. sabina Edwards says:

    I think the photography one would interest me the most (And is the kids cookbook one they cook the stuff or you cook the stuff lol)

  39. Lee-Ann S says:

    Right now we read a lot of Dork Diaries.

  40. Jodi Mitrovic says:

    I love reading Love You Forever by Robert Munsch to my boys.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *