A little introduction

| January 28, 2013 | 2 Comments

A complete overhaul of the Ottawa Mommy Club website inspired me to start fresh too.  So this, my first post on the new site, will be an introduction of sorts.

A little about me.. I’m a woman, a mom, a writer, a thinker, a doer.  Is that too vague?  Okay.  I’m in my early 30s.  I have two kids, a 3 year old boy and a 1 year old girl.  I got an undergrad degree in biology and work for the government as a scientist.  After my second maternity leave I decided to take an extended leave and am now home with my kids full time.

I’m learning about motherhood every day.  While my kids are growing as people, I’m growing as a parent.  Thankfully they don’t know any different, they don’t understand that I have no idea what I’m doing.  No one knows what it’s like until they become a parent themselves.

IBlogAt_250px_whiteThere are so many ways to parent, so many choices to make.  So many ways to be an amazing parent to your child.  But I digress… back to me.  I’ll be writing about some of those choices, the ones I’ve made, and maybe you have too.  Things like cloth diapering and breastfeeding, baby gear we like, and more.

I like to get out of the house.  I take the kids to playdates and drop-in playgroups, to the library and stores, to various activities and events, and just to the park.  There are so many things to see and do in Ottawa.  I’ll blog about some of the activities we do, both free ones and things we have to pay for.

Being pregnant the second time was a great opportunity for me to really focus on what I wanted out of the birth, how I wanted things to go, since I had already researched baby things to death before my son was born.  I ended up figuring out how to manage pain a little too well and had my daughter at home before anyone could get there.  That experience changed me and helped me figure out that I really want to be a doula, someone who helps women prepare for labour and stays with them until the baby is born.  Almost two years later I’ve completed my training and am working towards certification.  Because of that I’ll be writing about birth and pregnancy too.

Being a parent isn’t all that I am.  I still have interests and things I want to do.  In all my spare time obviously.  I’ll write about some activities that don’t involve kids, review books that I’ve read, and maybe even things to do with your partner.  If I ever get around to having a date night.

I would love to hear from you.  Feel free to leave a comment or contact me on Twitter (I’m @lifeofk there).  Thank you for reading.

Cheers to new beginnings and fresh website designs!

Tags: ,

Category: Blogs

About the Author ()

Kamerine has been blogging for 10 years, the past four and a half as a mom. She has a 4.5 year old son and a 3 year old daughter who was born at home with only her husband there to help. Completely transformed by that experience Kamerine is now working as a birth doula. She will be writing about her experiences parenting two young children, books her and her children love, and things to do in the city.

Comments (2)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. Marianne says:

    Hi Kam,

    This makes me wish I were still in Ottawa. Having a 9 month old definitely gets you thinking…okay, what will we do next?! Right now in Whitehore it is super cold, last night windchill had us at -40 or worse. So we are all battling cabin fever!

    I’m really looking forward to your posts, especially about doula-ing and managing two kids close in age. Rob is hoping we will pull the trigger on number two but I’m definitely not ready. .

    Can’t wait to hear more from you.

  2. Kamerine says:

    Thanks Marianne! I wish you were in Ottawa too 🙂

Thank you for commenting! Your comment is moderated before being published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.